By Stefania RuddOur Week In Review sums up our weekly comic book coverage while taking time for a new review or two before it’s all over. Did we miss your favorite books this week? Well. This is where you need to be.

'Rick and Morty' is reviewed in our WEEK IN REVIEWRick and Morty #26

Oni Press/$3.99

Written by Kyle Starks.

Art by CJ Cannon.

Colors by Katy Farina.

Letters by CRANK!

SR: Fans of Rick and Morty love the offbeat and off-color humor that the show so boldly indulges in. In a way, we all share the world in which an alcoholic genius mad scientist grandfather (Rick) and his naive but grounded grandson (Morty) inhabit.

Of course, I should say worlds, since many of their adventures are inter-dimensional. When the Oni Press comic series began in 2015, I rejoiced that there was another avenue through which I could score my Rick and Morty fix. I was even more enthused to learn that the comic was cleverly set in an alternate world so that it wouldn’t mess up the continuity of the show. That allows for a lot of freedom, not just for the creators working on both series, but for readers and viewers as well.

In Rick and Morty #26 writer Kyle Starks provides a quick one-and-done that surrounds an alien race coming to take over our planet. Morty is busy working on a science fair project that Rick mocks, and his dad, Jerry, is struggling with the lawn work due to a malfunctioning weed wacker. Of course, this is when the President of the United States arrives to their home to ask for help.

From premise to tone the issue starts out strong and flows just like an episode of the show. Due to its distinct vocal performances it’s very easy to hear the characters while reading this book.

It does go a little off track once Jerry volunteers to save the world when Rick can’t be bothered. Jerry is insecure and does tend to position himself as more important than he is, which often ends with the rest of the family putting him back in his place. However, it still comes from a place of care. In this issue it felt that they were meaner to him than they needed to be just for the sake of throwing jabs.

The issue ends well and of course all is well once Rick finally steps in. CJ Cannon’s artwork and Katy Farina’s coloring are very much in line with the show and you can tell they had fun with the alien characters as well as the science golem, Drippy Boy.

Overall, issue #26 is a low-key one-off that performs beautifully as sumptuous filler, one that should keep our Rick and Morty fixes at bay.

7 out of 10

From earlier this week — 

Feel the rush of ‘Motor Crush’, an instant, iconic, Image classic

Esther de Groot gets woke in this exclusive preview of ‘Giant Days’ #27

Like scotch and apple juice, ‘Spencer & Locke’ provides nostalgia, distress, and contrast

10 things concerning John Allison, Max Sarin, and the indelible, essential ‘Giant Days’

Arthur and Mera act like dang grown-ups in this exclusive preview of ‘Aquaman’ #24

“The Lazarus Contract” has made the lives of the Titans, Teen or otherwise, super crazy

‘Cable’ #1 another flimsy, lightweight debut from Marvel’s “ResurrXion” line

What books did YOU read this week? We want to know! Tell us about those feelings of yours in the comments section below.